While the disease is common, dementia and Alzheimer’s affects each individual differently.  Depending on the type and progression of these diseases, loved ones may be OK living at home or require assistance.  As the disease progresses, those needs may change.  To help aid your research, we identified the following resources as helpful for those families struggling with tough decisions.

Regardless of your loved one’s current abilities, we are always available for consultation and guidance.  We believe this free service provides families comfort in their decision making process.  As you review the material, please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions.

For more information on how to build activities for your loved one at home, please check out our blog post about meaningful activies.


There are 10 warning signs of Alzheimer’s disease.

  1. Memory loss that disrupts daily life.
  2. Challenges in planning or solving problems.
  3. Difficulty completing familiar tasks at home, at work or at leisure.
  4. Confusion with time or place.
  5. Trouble understanding visual images and spatial relationships.
  6. New problems with words in speaking or writing.
  7. Misplacing things and losing the ability to retrace steps.
  8. Decreased or poor judgment.
  9. Withdrawal from work or social activities.
  10. Changes in mood and personality.
Those with Alzheimer’s generally experience seven different stages.

  • Stage 1: No impairment
  • Stage 2: Very mild decline
  • Stage 3: Mild decline
  • Stage 4: Moderate decline
  • Stage 5: Moderately severe decline
  • Stage 6: Severe decline
  • Stage 7: Very severe decline